So I used to live really close to Peters' Drive in, an iconic drive in burgers and shake place in Calgary. I only discovered their shakes only a short while before I moved across the city. So every time I was in the area, I always make a point to stop at Peters'.So a few Saturdays ago we had an errand to run in the neighbourhood and I decided to drag my brother to go get some food from there. The first thing I noticed was the new sign. The classic Peters' Drive In logo is gone and replaced with a blue and white logo. The second thing I noticed was the message, which says "debit available yay its 1990". It made me laugh, just the way they poked fun at themselves. For those who don't know Peters' only accepted cash up until very recently. So it is good news for those who prefers plastic over cash. Though with our new bills, they are kind of plastics as well.
Anyways, we ordered three single burgers with tomatoes and lettuce (a new option I believe), onion rings, and a peach + mango + pina colada shake (this way I get pineapple and coconut). The total was just under $20 and it wasn't that long of a wait.
![]() |
| All new logos |
We had other errands to run and so I was only able to snack on the onion rings and the shake until we got home. The onion rings were good, they are all soft and gooey on the inside but very crunchy on the outside. They were not too salty at the beginning and I find I can just eat them without any ketchup. Though after eating several in a row, I started to find them too salty and had to stop for a little bit before eating them again. ![]() |
| The cups still have the old logo on it. |
After two hours, we finally made it home and was able to dig into the burger. The burgers weren't bad, but maybe due to the time lapse, the meat was quite tough. The bun was soft and sweet, the lettuce and tomato was a good addition but it still couldn't distract me from how tough the burger was. I couldn't help but think with the new management and the new face lift, the quality of the burgers have gone down. But I am willing to give it another try since it was my fault for waiting two hours before I ate the burger. Well that just gives me an excuse to go back again. :P
*Finally updated.. Sorry.. Too much life changing things happening right now... >_<



No comments:
Post a Comment